Adopt-A-Beach

Adopt-a-Beach Program Information

The Outer Banks Surfrider Foundation is responsible for coordinating the Adopt-A-Beach program in Dare County. This program involves individual, business, and organization sponsors willing to adopt a local public beach access and keep it clean at a minimum of six times a year.

The towns in which public accesses are available agree to assist in coordination by providing sponsorship signs for the access offering publicity to the sponsor.

Sponsors are required to fill out data sheets each time an access is cleaned, and return it to the Surfrider Foundation. The data sheets record detailed information regarding types of debris and quantities found. This information is compiled and sent to each town and may be used in national and regional research projects.

Program Goals:

  • Maintain clean, liter-free beaches in Dare County
  • Raise public awareness on clean beach issues
  • Collect statistical data on debris found.

Sign Up Now! Submit Debris Data


Ask to be placed on a wait list for your favorite access.

 


Program Contacts:

Program Coordinator:

Scott Lawrence
252-441-0581
fax 252-441-4691
scott@boldprintdesign.com
Please feel free to call or email me to find out more about the Dare County Adopt-A-Beach program, or to express your interest in adopting a beach access.

Town Resources:

Below is contact information for the town manager and public works department for each town participating in the Adopt-A-Beach program. If you come across a large debris item that you cannot remove, please call the public works department of that town and they will come remove it. You can also call if you have any other concerns about your access, or if your sign has been removed, damaged, or not installed yet.

Kitty Hawk

Public Works:
Willie Midgett
252-261-1367
wmidgett@kittyhawktown.net

Town Manager:
John Stockton
252-261-3552
jstockton@kittyhawktown.net

Kill Devil Hills

Grounds Supervisor, Public Works:
Ross Cipriano
252-480-4045
Ross@kdhnc.com

Town Manager:
Debra Peele Diaz
252-449-5300
Debbie@kdhnc.com

Nags Head

Public Works:
Doug Huff
252-441-1122
huffd@townofnagshead.net

Town Manager:
Cliff Ogburn
252-441-5508
Ogburn@townofnagshead.net

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Eximius Theme by dkszone.net